Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

This month’s ABS inspiration painting is by Pablo Picasso. I loved the rich colour scheme of dark green, teal, light blue and touches of creamy yellow.

e840c-portraitofolga

Portrait of Olga in the Armchair, 1917
Pablo Picasso
Oil on Canvas 130 × 88.8 cm

Last year I bought several glass focal beads at a Christmas craft fair in Edinburgh, and one matched the colours of the painting beautifully. The spirals on the bead also reminded me of the tendrils of the foliage in the painting. Unfortunately I was so excited by the beads, I forgot to take a note of the maker.

DSCF0245

Based on the age of the painting (1917) I wanted to make something with an Edwardian feel, but also modern in keeping with Picasso’s innovative spirit. Modern-Edwardian, is that a species of Steampunk?

DSCF0227 DSCF0231I used blue craft wire (enamel coated copper), glass seed beads, and Czech glass rings to make lots of links.

