Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I love my creature beads, but sometimes they can be real divas to work with! Take for example “Rockpool Creature”…

379_dscf1022

I made this bead at the end of summer, and I pictured colourful corals in tropical rockpools. As I was getting it ready for listing in my shop, it kept insisting it was in fact this month’s ABS inspiration painting – Winter Landscape by Wassily Kandinsky.

Winter Landscape by Wassily Kandinsky

Winter Landscape by Wassily Kandinsky, 1909
Oil on cardboard 75.5 cm × 97.5 cm

You start to feel silly arguing with a bead, so I gave in 🙂 I wired the bead with the yellows on the horizon brightening to white cloud above like the landscape. I added some dark blue wire to represent the bare trees (I think some of the shapes came from “Cannons“). Then I added some crystals and pale blue and purple icicle dangles.

wrapped beadThis bead did NOT want to be a necklace. I think it really wanted to be an ornament but, as parents do, I thought it should work for a living. So it became a pendant (for now).

kandinsky creature pendant

I wish you a very MERRY CHRISTMAS, and a new year full of unexpected treasures.