Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

This week, for my polymer clay challenge, I have made toggles. I wanted to make a toggle to go with my retro beads from last week.

Retro toggle by Cate van Alphen

The decorative dot conceals the holes of the button. But it also caused some technical difficulties.

Retro toggle by Cate van Alphen

I ended up making three toggles because the first hole was too small to account for the bump on the button. So I made a new thinner button without the dot, and added a stripe of the patterned clay to the brown frame to link the two pieces.

Polymer clay toggle by Cate van Alphen

Then the second toggle frame was too big and it got scorched in the oven so it’s now covered with mosaic made from scraps. Although the colours seem to be departing from orange, I think this one is my favourite. It just goes to show that  mistakes are often opportunities with polymer clay.

Mosaic toggle by Cate van Alphen

Which one is your favourite?

