Tags

, , , , , , , ,

The biggest challenge with blogging something I’ve made every week is not the polymer clay but the photography. Waiting for a sunbeam, so I can photograph using natural light, in Northern England is difficult. In winter it’s even more unlikely. A sunbeam in England, in winter on a Tuesday or Thursday morning (when someone can look after my girls) is practically impossible. So I have had to resort to using a flood lamp for taking my photos, and the results are a bit grungy.

Kaleidoscope shank button by Cate van Alphen

Kaleidoscope shank button clasp by Cate van Alphen

I made a shank button using the kaleidoscope cane I made earlier. I love how the shank button structure doesn’t interfere with the kaleidoscope design.

Shank button clasp by Cate van Alphen

Shank button clasp back by Cate van Alphen

I liked the button so much I even signed the back ;).

I also made a wire hook which was a bit of a trauma. I wanted the wire to be flat. Previously I have used a DIY hammer (with clunky results), so for my birthday I got a nylon hammer specifically for wire. Unfortunately, this did not have any visible effect on the wire despite whacking it gently, harder, with venom and even asking my husband to have a go. I can only assume it’s the wrong type of hammer because it’s a hammer – there isn’t much scope for user error. Is there? In the end I resorted to using the DIY hammer again.

Polymer clay buttons by Cate van Alphen

Polymer clay buttons by Cate van Alphen

I also made some regular buttons and a toggle bead. To make the buttons, I used the edges of the kaleidoscope sheet I made for the shank button. Because I had laid the cane slices over scrap “mud” clay I had to add a layer of clay to the back and edges of the buttons. I used orange because that is supposed to be my focal colour, but after I had made a few I thought brown would have given more definition.

