Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’m so excited, I had an actual sunbeam this morning for taking photographs! I started this week off by making some buttons. They may look familiar from a couple of weeks ago when they were cabochons.

Polymer clay shank buttons by Cate van Alphen

Polymer clay shank buttons by Cate van Alphen

But now they’ve got their shanks on baby 😉

Polymer clay shank buttons by Cate van Alphen

Polymer clay shank buttons by Cate van Alphen

Next I made some bar buckles using the mokume gane sheet from last week. I also made a new sheet of mokume gane for the oval buckle using the offcuts which were still on my board.

Polymer clay buckles by Cate van Alphen

Polymer clay buckles by Cate van Alphen

I whipped up a bracelet using some old green ribbon and some of last week’s beads to test that the buckle actually worked.

Polymer clay and ribbon bracelet by Cate an Alphen

Polymer clay and ribbon bracelet by Cate an Alphen

It worked well until I took my jumper off and the whole bracelet came off too. The buckles hold quite well while the ribbon is horizontal, but when the buckles are lifted up they lose all tension and the ribbon just slips through. Maybe they would be better able to grip thicker (or rougher) fabric?

Daffodil bracelet by Cate van Alphen

Daffodil bracelet by Cate van Alphen

Perhaps the buckles should only used decoratively, or just to adjust the length rather than as a closure. I think they make interesting focals and I like the big hole button look of the round one. I’m sure they’d look great with sari silk, but I haven’t got any to test with. Or a band of macrame, but that will have to wait.

