Tags

, , ,

I’m a bit late with my Easter Egg this year. It took me all day to make rather than the couple of hours I had expected, so I didn’t have time to do a blog entry yesterday.

Black easter egg by Cate van Alphen

Easter egg by Cate van Alphen

It’s a little bit sombre as I was thinking of the latest victims in Belgium. I adapted a technique from when I was a child where you cover colours with black crayon and scratch in a design to reveal the colours below. The symbolism is my wish that after all the injury and grief, beauty can still be found.

Easter egg by Cate van Alphen

Polymer clay covered hen’s egg by Cate van Alphen

Since the eggs at Easter are a symbol of new life, I thought they were a good canvas for that thought. I used polymer clay over a hollow (blown) hen’s egg.

Easter egg by Cate van Alphen

Easter egg by Cate van Alphen

Even though I’m a bit late, I hope you had a happy and peaceful Easter.

