Tags

, , ,

I like abstract art but, with two young children, I don’t get to do much painting. Then it occurred to me that I had some interesting repeatable components that I could use to create an abstract composition – beads.

Bead Composition by Cate van Alphen

Bead Composition by Cate van Alphen

This image started as a photograph of polymer clay beads I had made, which I then cut and repeated using a photo editing program on the computer. It’s not intended to be a realistic space but rather a meditative repetition of shapes.

I’m quite pleased with the image but since it’s the result of photo editing it only exists as a digital file, so I’m not entirely sure what to do with it now. I always find computer images a little disappointing because there isn’t anything real at the end.

 

