Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

The first thing that sprang to mind when I saw this month’s Art Bead Scene inspiration painting was “Birdies!” (in the voice of my 3 year old).

Birds On Riser by Adolf Dietrich

Birds On Riser, 1944 by Adolf Dietrich
Oil on wood, 57.5 x 50 cm

I made some faux ceramic bird beads using polymer clay. I gave them all different colourings as in the painting. My initial idea was to have a row of birds making a bracelet like a paper doll chain, but some of the cheeky birdies turned inside out. Instead I put them on a white felt backing to create a cuff with a sprinkling of beads and sequins to represent the icy snow.

beaded bird cuff

bird cuff

bird cuff

I made some extra beads, so this little birdy needs a home. Leave a comment below if you’d like to adopt him (he assures me he can even manage an international flight).  If you share this giveaway on facebook/twitter etc let me know and I’ll put your name in the hat again for extra chances to win. 🙂

 

bird beadI’ll let you know the winner on Monday 7th April 2014.

Tweet! Tweet!