Tags

, , , , ,

I live in a beautiful place. One of my favourite things is the way lovely surprises peep out from behind the ubiquitous dry stone walls.

View by Cate van AlphenI love the texture of walls too!

Dry stone wall by Cate van Alphen

For a while I have wanted to make a polymer clay pendant combining the rugged stone walls with the local sheepy views.

Sheep by Cate van Alphen

I decided to make a window dome like I did for the daffodil necklace with a sheep peeping through.

Stone wall components by Cate van Alphen

I used a heat gun to create a crackle texture to represent the stone walls. It came out just like I wanted, so I made a selection of matching components.

Sheep by Cate van Alphen

I reused the sheep mould I made for Sheepfest and then I spent a bit too much time creating an environment for my sheep. Because when I put them together…

Sheep pendant WIP by Cate van Alphen

all the details get hidden :(. I don’t think I can bring myself to trap my sheepy in such a small space, so I’ll have to rethink. I’ll probably use the two pieces separately, and end up with two pendants instead (or maybe more if I need to proceed to plan C or D…).