Tags

, , , , , ,

This week, for my 2016 Polymer Clay Challenge, I went back to a comfort zone I didn’t know I had and made mini pendant sized vessels. I was intending to make a yarn bowl, but there is an upcoming celebration for the new baby in the family so I was asked to make a wishpot for her.

Wishpot by Cate van Alphen

Wishpot by Cate van Alphen

What’s a wishpot? I came up with the idea when my girls were babies and we had a welcome party for them. Family and friends spoke their good wishes for the new baby (like fairy godmothers) and blew into the pot. Afterwards I glued the lid on to keep the wishes inside. I’m keeping them safe for when my girls are old enough to wear jewellery.

Wishpots by Cate van Alphen

Wishpots by Cate van Alphen

I made one of them quite minimalist with a faux cork stopper, but I couldn’t resist making another one that was more florid. I’ll let baby’s mum choose :).

Wishpots by Cate van Alphen

Wishpots by Cate van Alphen

They are quite dinky as befitting a baby. I have tied a cord around the lip of my girls’ vessels to make them into pendants.

